voxsouley

My big news and more of the traditional commentary…

In Uncategorized on September 10, 2006 at 4:33 am

I hardly have time to write here any more, but I expect that to change soon as I get really into my new MPA program at the Monterey Institute. But I really must share this bit of news! My wife Andrea gave birth to a beautiful baby girl, our second, on Monday 9/4/06. Katie Tucker’s her name. I’ll see if I can post a picture here later on.

However, in my now precious spare time I came across this wonderful little article about the Wodaabe people of Niger:
afrol News – Generous herdsmen of Niger honoured by UNESCO

This is very similar in spirit to what Heifer International has been doing for some time.

During hard times, the Wodaabe – herders by tradition and trade – will loan pregnant cattle to people in their community who need it for 3 years. This practice was put on the UNESCO “Harmony List” as “an example for humanity worldwide.”

It’s nice to see the Fulani people’s practices getting worldwide, positive attention. Majority Hausa or Djerma people in Niger tended to look upon Fulani people negatively, kind of disparagingly. But then again, the Fulani I lived with did the same to the Bella people (slave-class, black-skinned Tuaregs). That was a strange lesson on humanity for me.

Leave a Reply

