voxsouley

New Directions

In Career Development on January 6, 2009 at 7:52 pm

I’ve been trying to figure out a way to utilize my blog… I still have opinions and read a lot, just not all 100% of the time about international development. So, from here on out, I want to change the focus of this Blog to reflect where I am professionally. With that in mind, I want to explain where I’m coming from…

When I was a Peace Corps recruiter, I had a story that I told people over and over again. In a nutshell, I defined myself as a future relief worker in Africa; that I was only doing this PC recruiter thing while I was getting my graduate degrees under my belt, so I could move on to bigger and better things later. My difficulty is that I told the same story so many times that I find myself professionally confused.

Life is a journey and I generally take things as they come… and things have changed. My interests have evolved – I’m still committed to poverty relief and want to stay in the international development field, but how I do that with my current family situation and professional abilities is still developing.

As for my current situation, I’ve been at the same job since last Spring. It was a way to get into the industry, so to speak. I tried to position myself to my boss and colleagues so that I could hold onto my previous “future”, so to speak.

But after almost a year of working in this position, I find myself trying to, well, find myself.

With that in mind, I intend to use this blog to work through my professional development, which now includes not just my interests in international development, but also whatever else I’m learning about. This blog will now include broader topics like the work-life balance, being a dad, advancing myself in my career… in general – a Generation X dad in his mid 30’s, trying to make it in his industry of choice.

Leave a Reply

