voxsouley

Mr. Mom

In Uncategorized on January 13, 2009 at 6:18 pm

Just check out this article on being a new dad and fitting it into your professional life:
Working from home: Not for every ‘Mr. Mom’ – CNN.com

It’s so funny how parenting evolves. I found that we could quickly master taking care of one infant; within a few weeks of living at home with dependable adult schedules, the baby gets into a rhythm and becomes relatively predictable. It’s funny how Lubin talks about the “emotional roller coaster” of going back to work after being out a whopping 2 weeks! My guess is he’d be on an emotional roller coaster with a 2 week old baby in any case.

I was lucky when our first daughter was born. I was a federal employee, and entitled to 3 months; I took two and a half. My daughter was born at the beginning of November, which worked out perfectly for taking all of November and December off, and then I went back to work part-time in January, going all the way back after Martin Luther King Day, if I remember correctly.

It was one of the best times of my life. My wife had intended to go back to work at about the same time. She was able to ease back in part time for two months, after taking 2 full months off.

It’s such a critical time in a baby’s life, you don’t get it back, it would be great if we could support more official, paid time off.

I’m being bad blogger, because I don’t have the time or patience to really backlink anything and get anything up here supporting how I feel. But I wanted to get this blog post up here, in any case.

Leave a Reply

