voxsouley

Back to work…

In Career Development, Home Life, Kids on June 21, 2011 at 9:30 am

Well… That was fast… But delightfully slow. I’m at the tail end of my 12 weeks of paternity leave. For the first several weeks, I was always saying, “I’m happy to be home but I’ll be ready to go back.” But now, faced with heading back to work with a 3 week West Africa trip in my near future, I’ve got mixed emotions, to say the least. Happy I’ve got a good job in a tough economy, happy it’s a job I am excited about, but very sad to think about missing my wife and kids… Especially when my 4 year old starts crying a lot when I leave.

It took a few weeks, but I learned to love being at home. I have really enjoyed seeing my kids off to and then picking them up from school. I like being around for them, answering questions, getting to know them… This time has been invaluable. My girls are now 7 and 4, just great ages where they can have interesting conversations and hang out in more fun places. My son is now almost 3 months, and has become very interactive. I’m extremely grateful to my employer, IRD, for their generous family leave policy. This has been great for me and my family.

So Monday I’m back to the grind, full time. I’m looking forward to re-engaging and to seeing where my new team takes me, I know I’m going to learn a lot. Hopefully my re-learning curve won’t be too steep.

Leave a Reply

