voxsouley

Back From Ethiopia

In Ethiopia, Home Life, International Development, Kids on September 8, 2011 at 8:57 am

I got back from Ethiopia last night. It was a great trip overall – I was able to fulfill my scope of work and help lay the foundation for our relief projects. We hired staff and formally negotiated a few different contracts for water trucking and the various materials. People are being helped that needed it, simple as that.

On the personal level, it’s amazing coming home to my family. My son, who turned 5 months old last Friday, is almost like a whole new kid, he changed so much in 3 weeks. He’s so much more interactive, staring and following things more with his head and eyes. The best part is that he totally laughs now, which is super rewarding. My daughters both started school on Tuesday, which was very significant for my 5 year old, who started Kindergarten. Things are copacetic.

I want to commit to blogging more – but I need to decide what I should blog about. I’m of the opinion that I shouldn’t pontificate about something unless I feel strongly about it and can put in the effort to defend my point of view empirically. That’s mostly why I don’t blog all the time – I’m working or home with the kids, and I don’t have time to articulate anything online. So, it seems like for the last 2 years, I write when I travel and am not around the kids. But that’s not a formula for a well-regarded blog…

In any case, hopefully I’ll give my 2-3 loyal readers something useful and thought provoking at some point.

Leave a Reply

